Mary’s Ear = WORD = Logos = Sound = vibrations = baby Jesus

How long has the term “cents” been in existence to describe a frequency adjustment? The implications may be very important.

WORD – LOGOS – vibration

If we ignore ‘sounds’ and the etymology of words (based on the ORAL traditions)  the road back to a universal truth will be a very, very long one.
IMHO
Where did the word cent or cents derive?
Ever play the game ‘CHARADES’?

Step 1: Review charades gestures

Review common charades gestures. Cranking an old-time movie camera means the answer will be a film title. Making a rectangle with your thumbs and index fingers indicates a TV show. Holding up fingers indicates number of words; laying fingers on your arm indicates syllables in a word; and tugging on your ear means ‘’sounds like.’’

tugging on your ear means ‘’sounds like.’’ :idea:

….how did Mary get pregnant with jesus?
….did god whisper sweet nothings into Mary’s ear?
….descent of Inanna (a very old Sumerian tale) ….

‘From the great above she set her mind to the great below.’
Samuel Noah Kramer
says that in that Sumerian story that the …

“Mind means EAR”

sense (n.) Look up sense at Dictionary.com
c.1400, “faculty of perception,” also “meaning or interpretation” (esp. of Holy Scripture :mrgreen: ), from O.Fr. sens, from L. sensus “perception, feeling, undertaking, meaning,” from sentire “perceive, feel, know,” prob. a fig. use of a lit. meaning “to find one’s way,” from PIE base *sent- “to go” (cf. O.H.G. sinnan “to go, travel, strive after, have in mind, perceive,” Ger. Sinn “sense, mind,” O.E. sið “way, journey,” O.Ir. set, Welsh hynt “way”). Application to any one of the external or outward senses (touch, sight, hearing, etc.) first recorded 1526.

“Hornkostel cites a Negro tribe that has a separate word for seeing, but employs a common term for hearing, tasting, smelling, and touching.” [A.G. Engstrom, “Philological Quarterly,” XXV, 1946]

The verb meaning “to perceive by the senses” is recorded from 1598. Senses “mental faculties, sanity” is attested from 1568.

Cent >>  scent >> sense >>  uncommon poetic interpretations.

However cents only related to music or mo’ money is where the ego dwells.

Ever notice how some music really stinks?
Ever hear of the song ‘smelly cats’ :lol:
Did you know that the NOSE is chiral, and that chirality implies asymmetry?
Maybe that is why a dog is man’s best friend?
Maybe a dog can smell symmetrically?
I know their cents of hearing is much better than ours.

Life without poetry is just a bunch of noise, haste and waste.
That would be my 2 cents worth…

Nah

I like to think I am trying to use all ‘ 7 sense’ in the garden of Eden.
Carry on,  stand at ease,  as you were.
;)

namaste

20 thoughts on “Mary’s Ear = WORD = Logos = Sound = vibrations = baby Jesus

  1. To answer the top question of the post, according to wiki: “Alexander J. Ellis based the measure on the acoustic logarithms decimal semitone system developed

    by Gaspard de Prony in the 1830s, at Robert Holford Macdowell Bosanquet’s suggestion. Ellis made extensive measurements of musical instruments … using

    cents extensively to report and compare the scales employed, and further described … the system in his edition of Hermann von Helmholtz’s On the Sensations

    of Tone”

    Full wiki article here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cent_(music)

    The section on “Human Perception” is well worth the read, as well IMO. Though, I wouldn’t be so quick to assume that just because you can’t *hear* the

    difference, it doesn’t mean you can’t FEEL it. Eh?

    They have a neat little calculator for cents on the site below (because I always double check wiki- It’s so damn drab most of the time!). I put in the ratios of

    3:2, 4:3, and 5:4 coming out with 702, 498, and 386 cents respectively- then I snickered almost automatically when I read: “Thus, the size of the fifth found

    in the Overtone Series is 702 cents, while the size of the fifth found on the piano is 700 cents. That’s a difference of 2 cents.” 2 cents- Even I am starting

    to see the poetry! [Also, saw close prox to 703 and 72 years = 1 degree precession, (zero removed)] I chose those ratios because that guy I mentioned

    previously Drew (who’s blog has now disappeared…?? Don’t know why- Ack…) fellow is always raving about 2/3 and 3/4 (though, when I did them that way

    they came out negative, with the same numbers- I’m ignorant to the signifigance as I’ve never been good with ratios and fractions (or math in general, I liked

    geometry okay though!) And as far as I knew, Kepler related the planets to the simple ratios mentioned above- I think that was Drew’s info again; just

    following my gut/what was remembered. I’m sure that the numbers mean more to you and Mr. Hawk123, than I. (Though I have learned that : 702 = 9; 498 =

    21 =3; 386 = 17 = 8, again signifigance isn’t clear to me…)

    Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing.

    Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the

    earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my

    birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

  2. To answer the top question of the post, according to wiki: “Alexander J. Ellis based the measure on the acoustic logarithms decimal semitone system developed

    by Gaspard de Prony in the 1830s, at Robert Holford Macdowell Bosanquet’s suggestion. Ellis made extensive measurements of musical instruments … using

    cents extensively to report and compare the scales employed, and further described … the system in his edition of Hermann von Helmholtz’s On the Sensations

    of Tone”

    Full wiki article here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cent_(music)

    The section on “Human Perception” is well worth the read, as well IMO. Though, I wouldn’t be so quick to assume that just because you can’t *hear* the

    difference, it doesn’t mean you can’t FEEL it. Eh?

    They have a neat little calculator for cents on the site below (because I always double check wiki- It’s so damn drab most of the time!). I put in the ratios of

    3:2, 4:3, and 5:4 coming out with 702, 498, and 386 cents respectively- then I snickered almost automatically when I read: “Thus, the size of the fifth found

    in the Overtone Series is 702 cents, while the size of the fifth found on the piano is 700 cents. That’s a difference of 2 cents.” 2 cents- Even I am starting

    to see the poetry! [Also, saw close prox to 703 and 72 years = 1 degree precession, (zero removed)] I chose those ratios because that guy I mentioned

    previously Drew (who’s blog has now disappeared…?? Don’t know why- Ack…) fellow is always raving about 2/3 and 3/4 (though, when I did them that way

    they came out negative, with the same numbers- I’m ignorant to the signifigance as I’ve never been good with ratios and fractions (or math in general, I liked

    geometry okay though!) And as far as I knew, Kepler related the planets to the simple ratios mentioned above- I think that was Drew’s info again; just

    following my gut/what was remembered. I’m sure that the numbers mean more to you and Mr. Hawk123, than I. (Though I have learned that : 702 = 9; 498 =

    21 =3; 386 = 17 = 8, again signifigance isn’t clear to me…)

    Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing.

    Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the

    earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my

    birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

    P.S. Tried to post this last night, but apparently it didn’t go. Thank goodness I do all my drafts in notepad. =] I will try to get back to answering your other question (Who papa is…) sometime soon here. The obvious answer doesn’t strike me as correct for some reason…

  3. To answer the top question of the post, according to wiki: “Alexander J. Ellis based the measure on the acoustic logarithms decimal semitone system developed by Gaspard de Prony in the 1830s, at Robert Holford Macdowell Bosanquet’s suggestion. Ellis made extensive measurements of musical instruments … using cents extensively to report and compare the scales employed, and further described … the system in his edition of Hermann von Helmholtz’s On the Sensations of Tone”

    Full wiki article here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cent_(music)

    The section on “Human Perception” is well worth the read, as well IMO. Though, I wouldn’t be so quick to assume that just because you can’t *hear* the difference, it doesn’t mean you can’t FEEL it. Eh?

    They have a neat little calculator for cents on the site below (because I always double check wiki- It’s so damn drab most of the time!). I put in the ratios of 3:2, 4:3, and 5:4 coming out with 702, 498, and 386 cents respectively- then I snickered almost automatically when I read: “Thus, the size of the fifth found in the Overtone Series is 702 cents, while the size of the fifth found on the piano is 700 cents. That’s a difference of 2 cents.” 2 cents- Even I am starting to see the poetry! [Also, saw close prox to 703 and 72 years = 1 degree precession, (zero removed)] I chose those ratios because that guy I mentioned previously Drew (who’s blog has now disappeared…?? Don’t know why- Ack…) fellow is always raving about 2/3 and 3/4 (though, when I did them that way they came out negative, with the same numbers- I’m ignorant to the signifigance as I’ve never been good with ratios and fractions (or math in general, I liked geometry okay though!) And as far as I knew, Kepler related the planets to the simple ratios mentioned above- I think that was Drew’s info again; just following my gut/what was remembered. I’m sure that the numbers mean more to you and Mr. Hawk123, than I. (Though I have learned that : 702 = 9; 498 = 21 =3; 386 = 17 = 8, again signifigance isn’t clear to me…)

    Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing. Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

  4. To answer the top question of the post, according to wiki: “Alexander J. Ellis based the measure on the acoustic logarithms decimal semitone system developed by Gaspard de Prony in the 1830s, at Robert Holford Macdowell Bosanquet’s suggestion. Ellis made extensive measurements of musical instruments … using cents extensively to report and compare the scales employed, and further described … the system in his edition of Hermann von Helmholtz’s On the Sensations of Tone”

    Full wiki article here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cent_(music)

    The section on “Human Perception” is well worth the read, as well IMO. Though, I wouldn’t be so quick to assume that just because you can’t *hear* the difference, it doesn’t mean you can’t FEEL it. Eh?

    They have a neat little calculator for cents on the site below (because I always double check wiki- It’s so damn drab most of the time!). I put in the ratios of 3:2, 4:3, and 5:4 coming out with 702, 498, and 386 cents respectively- then I snickered almost automatically when I read: “Thus, the size of the fifth found in the Overtone Series is 702 cents, while the size of the fifth found on the piano is 700 cents. That’s a difference of 2 cents.” 2 cents- Even I am starting to see the poetry! [Also, saw close prox to 703 and 72 years = 1 degree precession, (zero removed)] I chose those ratios because that guy I mentioned previously Drew (who’s blog has now disappeared…?? Don’t know why- Ack…) fellow is always raving about 2/3 and 3/4 (though, when I did them that way they came out negative, with the same numbers- I’m ignorant to the signifigance as I’ve never been good with ratios and fractions (or math in general, I liked geometry okay though!) And as far as I knew, Kepler related the planets to the simple ratios mentioned above- I think that was Drew’s info again; just following my gut/what was remembered. I’m sure that the numbers mean more to you and Mr. Hawk123, than I. (Though I have learned that : 702 = 9; 498 = 21 =3; 386 = 17 = 8, again signifigance isn’t clear to me…)

    (breaking into 2 comments to see if it posts that way…)

    • Herman Helmholtz”

      On The Sensations Of Tone As A Physiological Basis For The
      Theory Of Music

      33 66 132 264 528 1056 2112

      Harmonics of the Earth Squared by the Moon
      C 33 66 132 264 528 1056 2112
      D 37,125 74,25 148,5 297 594 1188 2376
      E 41,25 82,5 165 330 660 1320 2640
      F 44 88 176 352 704 1408 2816
      G 49,5 99 198 396 792 1584 3168
      A 55 110 220 440 880 1760 3520
      B 61,875 123,75 247,5 495 990 1980 3960

      31680 = 528 Hertz x 60 = 440 Hertz x 72

      Now the Eagle landed on the moon has a left wing with 32 feathers and a right wing with 33 feathers. (See Scottish Rite)

      The code for Eagle = 576
      The Horus eye code of this Eagle = 64 / 63 = 576 / 567

      The ideal harmonic month is 30 days x 24 hours x 60 minutes = 432 x 100
      Therefore the ideal harmonic month is linked to 432 Hertz.

      The lunar month can be calculated as:
      Multiply a month of 30 days by the Horus Eye series ‘2 ‘4 ‘8 ’16 ’32 ’64
      and you obtain 29 ‘2 ’32 days,
      or 29 days 12 hours 45 minutes = 42525 minutes

      The Eye of Horus ratio is:
      43200 / 42525 = 1.015873015873015873015873015873 = 64 / 63
      See the repeating 15873

      The Eye of Horus ratio is {64:63}
      The Greek foot ratio is {441:440} (Related to 440 Hertz)
      The Pythagorean Limma is {256:243} and
      The Pythagorean Comma is {531441:524288}

  5. (continued from above)

    Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing. Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

  6. Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing. Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

  7. (continuation from above)
    Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain/atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    (make that 3 comments…)

  8. (continued from above- I had to cut up the links, I don’t think it likes them…?)

    Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain
    /atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain
    /atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain
    /atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations
    /harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing. Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

  9. Link to calculator/cents info:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain
    /atmi98/examples/cents/default.html

    I liked the info on the Overtone series, too:
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain
    /atmi98/examples/os/index.html

    I found these exceptional, as well- (Our good friend Pythagoras):
    http://www.music.sc.edu/fs/bain
    /atmi98/examples/pst/index.html
    http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/harmony/pyth.html

    Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

  10. Ahh, here’s some Large kepler info; hope it’s of interest?:
    http://www.wlym.com/~animations/harmonies/site.php?goto=intro.html
    (Check the archive section- they have a .zip you can download of the whole site, woo hoo.)

    Last but not least, I stumbled on this:
    root:cre… meaning:grow Example:create, cre*scent*…
    http://ueno.cool.ne.jp/let/prefix.html

    A while ago I was outside concentrating on the moon and got a better idea of “up”/”down” in the solar system from just sitting there in silence, observing. Sounds ridiculously sad but I saw the moon in 3D for the first time (Truth hurtz sometimes- never looked at it the same since). (The 23.44 degree tilt of the earth makes me dizzy…) Talk about growing some sense- Ahh the wonders of shutting up for a few minutes. I reccomend everyone try it!!! New moon on my birthday this year. Hmm… I can sure feel left in the dark at times, but something seems to be stirring…? How appropriate.

    Later sir,

    -Jer

    P.S. Hope this all comes through, it’s really screwed up and i’m going to be late for work. Sorry if it comes out all effed up.

  11. Raph,
    I am really sorry for spamming up the comments. If you can please remove all of them except the one posted @ July 21, 2009 at 5:43 am, and the one’s Hawk has responded to. It wont’ let me- will it? I don’t see an option to. Again, sorry about this… I will be more patient next time.

    apologies,

    -Jer

Leave a Reply

